[Snort-users] False positive

Garcia-Zamora, Manuel zamoram at ...15640...
Wed May 16 10:27:53 EDT 2012

The ports are not within the standard , I think,   so it is a bad formed packet


this will be an DHCP offer or acknowledgement  from source what is wrong. 


-----Original Message-----
From: Joel Esler [mailto:jesler at ...1935...] 
Sent: 16 May 2012 14:41
To: Philip Edwards
Cc: snort-users at lists.sourceforge.net
Subject: Re: [Snort-users] False positive

Is there any way you can provide some pcaps to illustrate your FP?

Joel Esler
Senior Research Engineer, VRT
OpenSource Community Manager

On May 16, 2012, at 7:08 AM, Philip Edwards wrote:

> Hi,
> I have recently installed snort on ubuntu and am just attempting to tune out the noise.
> For some reason the BAD-TRAFFIC (same source and destination) rule is firing on DHCP broadcasts.
> The source is port 67 and the destination is port 68.
> Since the source and destination are different can anyone clue me in?
> Thanks
> Phil Edwards=

Live Security Virtual Conference
Exclusive live event will cover all the ways today's security and threat landscape has changed and how IT managers can respond. Discussions will include endpoint security, mobile security and the latest in malware threats. http://www.accelacomm.com/jaw/sfrnl04242012/114/50122263/
Snort-users mailing list
Snort-users at lists.sourceforge.net
Go to this URL to change user options or unsubscribe:
Snort-users list archive:

Please visit http://blog.snort.org to stay current on all the latest Snort news!

Any opinions expressed in this email are those of the individual and not necessarily the company. The contents of this email and any attachments are confidential to The Innovation Group PLC and are solely for use by the intended recipient at the email address to which it has been addressed.

This email and any attachments may not be disclosed to or used by anyone other than the intended recipient, nor may it be copied in any way.  If you have received this email in error, please forward a copy of this email to itsupport at ...15640... and then delete it from your system.

The Innovation Group PLC: Registered in England 3256771
Registered Office: Yarmouth House 1300 Parkway Solent Business Park Whiteley Hampshire PO15 7AE UK

This email and any attachments has been swept for computer viruses. Neither The Innovation Group PLC nor the sender accept any responsibility for computer viruses once this email has been transmitted.

More information about the Snort-users mailing list